(Which I have nothing to do with at All!)

There are various areas within psychiatry which you may wish to consider. These are: child psychiatry, forensic psychiatry, general adult psychiatry, old age psychiatry, psychiatry of learning disability and psychotherapy. When undertaking your training you will complete three years of Core Psychiatry training, followed by three years in your chosen Psychiatric discipline.

Child Psychiatry

Child and adolescent psychiatry is concerned with the diagnosis and management of psychiatric disorders of infants to late adolescence.

Forensic Psychiatry

Forensic psychiatry is concerned with the assessment and treatment of mentally disordered offenders and requires sophisticated understanding of the mental health and law interface.

General Adult Psychiatry

General adult psychiatry is concerned with providing service and interventions to patients with mental illnesses within hospital or community settings.

Old Age Psychiatry

Old age psychiatry is concerned with providing detailed psychiatric assessment, treatment and care to older adults with organic (i.e. dementia) and functional (i.e depressive illness or schizophrenia) psychiatric conditions.